Yet There Are Statues

February 8, 2009 at 8:43 pm | Posted in Site News | Leave a comment

I put my first book review online in January 2004.  My main audience was myself.  I read a fair amount and without assistance I have a hard time remembering what it is I’ve read before.  People were asking me for recommendations and I was finding it hard to remember my favorite books.  So I went back and rated every book I could remember reading and wrote at least a brief review of everything I read from then on.

That I kept at it for 100 reviews is something of a miracle.  In the best of times I lose interest in such projects quickly, but I made it through two years of frequent updates before pretty much dropping it.  Through 2007 and 2008 I kept wanting to get back to it, but while I was proud of having made my own site entirely from scratch the time required to update it was just too much.

Time to join the twenty-first century and let someone else do the hard work of writing blog software for me.  So this is my new site.  I’ve moved over all the old content, but going forward I plan on abandoning some of the oddities of my old site.  Entries will be dated when they are posted, not when I read the book being reviewed, for example.  Also, the jury’s still out on whether I’ll actually do this, but I aspire to a higher standard of writing.  The old material was never supposed to be more than quick thoughts for myself, but a lot of people ended up reading them, so going forward I will try to do a little better.  Finally, on the old site all the writing was supposed to be fresh, but here I plan on filling in thoughts on books I read during the two years I wasn’t updating.  Finally, although I can’t say I watch very much of either, television and movies may see a little discussion too.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

