Tawny Man Trilogy by Robin Hobb

March 29, 2004 at 12:00 am | Posted in 3 stars, Book Reviews, Fantasy | Leave a comment
Tags:

I have to say I’m a little split on this trilogy. On one hand, after reading the first book I said to myself, “I can’t believe I ever thought the Farseer trilogy was complete–this is what it needed all along”. Character-wise I feel like Fitz, done so well in the first three books, is finally more or less drawn perfectly in these books. The trouble is Hobb set such a high standard in the Farseer trilogy that some drop off is inevitable. There are still flashes of that greatness here but unfortunately the plot doesn’t tie everything together strongly. The story of the first book is almost completely independent of the second two, and in the second two books there is something of a lack of urgency. Finally, it pains me to say that the last third of the third book is, to me, almost a complete disaster. It doesn’t ruin this trilogy, but man, it’s unfortunate. At any rate, this builds strongly on the Farseer trilogy so start there. While it doesn’t tie strongly to the Liveship books there are some spoilers for them and at any rate the Liveship books are better, so I would recommend reading those first as well.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

